Tina Fey Nominated for the Critics Choice Super Awards!
Filed under Awards News Soul

Tina Fey Nominated for the Critics Choice Super Awards!

Tina Fey was nominated for the Critics Choice Super Awards as Best Voice Actress in an Animated Movie! Jamie Foxx also received an nomination as Best Voice Actor in an Animated Movie and Soul received the Best Animated Movie nod.

After creating the Critics Choice Awards for both movies and television achievements, plus spinoff shows for the best in documentaries and reality TV, the Critics Choice Association on Thursday announced nominees for its latest awards-show venture, the Critics Choice Super Awards. Designed to honor popular forms of entertainment for both movies and series, the virtual pre-recorded television presentation honoring superhero, science fiction/fantasy, horror, action and animation will air Sunday, January 10, 2021 on the CW as a two-hour special at 8 pm ET/PT.

Berlin notes that the Critics Choice Awards often included special categories for these genres but it was decided to give them more of a showcase, thus this new awards show. “We have given out best horror movie and action movie and animated series and those things, and they often didn’t get on the air. Just like we broke out the documentary awards into their own event, and we broke out the reality television for the same reasons because there is good stuff that doesn’t get to shine on its own at the Critics Choice Awards. I think it makes a lot of sense, and I think it is going to be really entertaining. I think it can really grow into its own annual event,” he said.

Like many other live event shows the plan is to take it virtual, but COVID or not, there was never any discussion of making the new Critics Choice Super Awards anything but this format. “We’ve been developing this for two years, and from day one we always thought it would be a virtual show. We never thought it would make sense to try and get all these superhero players and voice talent and so on to come to an event like they do for the Critics Choice Awards. From day one we saw it as a taped television special, not a big party event. This is no change. It was a virtual celebration from day one. And that is what it is going to be,” he said, adding winners will be told in advance and their acceptance speeches will be taped.

Tina Fey – Soul (Disney+)
Honor Kneafsey – Wolfwalkers (Apple / GKIDS)
Maya Rudolph – The Willoughbys (Netflix)
Phillipa Soo – Over the Moon (Netflix)
Octavia Spencer – Onward (Disney+)
Eva Whittaker – Wolfwalkers (Apple / GKIDS)

Onward (Disney+)
Over the Moon (Netflix)
A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon (Netflix)
Soul (Disney+)
The Willoughbys (Netflix)
Wolfwalkers (Apple / GKIDS)

Jamie Foxx – Soul (Disney+)
Will Forte – The Willoughbys (Netflix)
Tom Holland – Onward (Disney+)
John Krasinski – Animal Crackers (Netflix)
Chris Pratt – Onward (Disney+)
Sam Rockwell – The One and Only Ivan (Disney+)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.